Wednesday, 1 February 2012

Federal Territory Day

Federal Territory Day or Hari Wilayah Persekutuan is a state holiday for Federal Territory in Malaysia. It is celebrated on 1 February every year in Kuala Lumpur, Labuan and Putrajaya. The date marks the anniversary of formation of the Kuala Lumpur Federal Territory in 1974, ceded by the state of Selangor to the federal government of Malaysia.


The Federal Territory Day was introduced on 1 February 1974, four days after the Federal Territory Agreement was signed on 28 January 1974 by the Yang di-Pertuan Agong and the Sultan of Selangor. In 1984 Labuan became the second federal territory, and on February 1st 2001 Putrajaya became the third federal territory of Malaysia.

No comments:

Post a Comment

My Hamster